Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> Select Expand BBCodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:14 am    Post subject: Re: Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem Reply with quote

I can't see why posting more than one javascript may affect the webserver (the javascript code runs on the client browser). so that sounds really weird! Shocked

Could you please post an example here? ...or describe what did you exactly posted?

edited: As an example, using the HTML BBCode MOD I can post the following as many times as I want/need/wish/lol:

<script type="text/JavaScript"><!--
document.write('Hello World!!!');
//--></script>
<script type="text/JavaScript"><!--
document.write('Hello World!!!');
//--></script>

The HTML BBCode begins here: Smile

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowTek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem Reply with quote

sure I posted a javascript for a rotating cursor and a java code for keeping a window in a Iframe, as I was posting a 3rd script, and I hit submit, I got the msg :you should not run more then 2 scripts at a time cause they could conflict. and I was like WTF are they talking about? Then a few minutes my host shut my down saying I had a PHP overload. They were simple javascript, short, Hell I dont know I scared the hell out of me. It took me awile to convince them to but me back online so I could fix the problem, soon as I deleted the 2 posts, the problem went away. The scripts were each in a code block. 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem Reply with quote

This is for sure something related to that specific javascript, a loop polling the server for something. Sure, that was the reason. That javascript was very badly coded. Nothing related to javascript itself, IMO. Not a good answer from your hosting provider either (I would think about changing to someone else more knowledgeable Razz ). Did you said a "3rd party" javascript? Do you have a link for me to analize. This is not the first time I hear of such a "misterious javascript and the hosting provider tale".


BTW, while surfing this site you're filling my webserver error logs with lots of 404 errors. I believe this is caused by your Hotbar add-on (I can see this in your userAgent).

Hotbar is considered spyware as it collects information about all the sites you visit. I've found this page interesting related to this subject:
http://www.pchell.com/support/hotbar.shtml

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowTek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem Reply with quote

Hi, Shit I thought I removed the Hotbar crap Mad Anyway Ill do a spyware scan and see, perhaps it left traces of its self there.

Anyway, heres the scripts, they came from various script sites. There simple script I think but here ya go.

Bad Bad Evil Java Scripts
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Select Expand BBcodes MOD Quote problem Reply with quote

ShadowTek wrote:
Hi, Shit I thought I removed the Hotbar crap Mad Anyway Ill do a spyware scan and see, perhaps it left traces of its self there.

I'm very happy with this one:
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/


ShadowTek wrote:
Anyway, heres the scripts, they came from various script sites. There simple script I think but here ya go.

Bad Bad Evil Java Scripts

The problem was the Keep in frames thingy. Try locally any javascript before using it in your life site, also try different browsers, if possible (IE and FF at minimun, Opera is also free).

If you need to keep a page within your own frames, there are other "safe" ways to do it. Smile

Look at this site:
http://www.quirksmode.org/

For instance, this page:
http://www.quirksmode.org/js/croswin.html

See the "This page is supposed to be in my frameset." on the top/right corner of the page.

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> Select Expand BBCodes All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum