HTML BBcode - code being stripped from between tags
 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> HTML BBcode
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jeff Walters
Starter
Starter


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: HTML BBcode - code being stripped from between tags Reply with quote

I am trying to set up a new forum, and was pleased to see that this MOD is available.

I installed EasyMod
Then Multi_BBCode
Then HTML_BBCode_1_1_4

The button appears, and drops in the HTML tags.

I've tried typing in different forms of HTML code - even copied in the Google example on your web page - but when I save the post, the html code does not work / some of it is stripped out when I open the post again.

What am I doing wrong.

Jeff
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you can see the [HTML] button, then you should be able to use the HTML BBCode (the button is only visible to those who have access to use it). If it doesn't work correctly... it is hard to tell why. However, the most common cause of troubles is a missing step when applying the MOD. Try checking again the changes made.

By default, only the main board administrator can use this BBCode. You can grant this privilege to others, but be sure not to give access to this BBCode to anyone you do not trust 100%. Otherwise one could do bad things inserting scripts to steal cookies or worse...

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeff Walters
Starter
Starter


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Markus

This works:
Code:
[html]<center><strong>This is a test</strong></center>[/html]


This fails :

Code:
[html]<div style="border: solid 1px #000000;text-align:center;">Testing 2</div>[/html]


After submitting the post, when I open it up again, I have:

Code:
[html]<div>Testing 2</div>[/html]


If I take you Google example, and paste it in:

Code:

[html]
<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
   <tr><td align="center">

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-3622563609670736";
google_ad_width = 468;
google_ad_height = 60;
google_ad_format = "468x60_as";
google_ad_type = "text";
google_color_border = "7B895E";
google_color_bg = "F0F0F0";
google_color_link = "0000FF";
google_color_url = "008000";
google_color_text = "000000";
if( document.getElementById || document.all )
{
   var googleAds = 'http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js';
   document.write('<sc'+'ript type="text/javascr'+'ipt" src="'+googleAds+'"></scr'+'ipt>');
}
// -->
</script>

   </td></tr>
</table>
[/html]


I get a syntax error in the status bar of IE, and nothing displays. When I open up the post again, this is all that I have:

Code:
[html]
<table>
   <tr><td>

<script></scr>
</script>

   </td></tr>
</table>
[/html]


No modifiers inside tags seems to be allowed.

Has this helped?

Jeff
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using a fresh phpBB 2.0.20 installation? ...any other MODs?

Also, try disabling HTML in ACP->General Admin->Configuration, scroll down to the section "User and Forum Basic Settings", set Allow HTML = No and save changes.

Just guessing...

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeff Walters
Starter
Starter


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:51 am    Post subject: Good Guess ... Reply with quote

Hi Markus

New installation, the only MODS installed are those that I listed earlier.

The good news is that you guessed correctly. Working fine now - you Google ad displays / is not stripped with saving.

Now I can really provide customised feedback for my customers.

Thanks for you feedback and patience.

Jeff

PS Correction - I have also installed your other MOD - the Select / Expand on Quotes and Code - another excellent MOD.
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> HTML BBcode All times are GMT + 1 Hour
 
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum