Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD
 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> Select Expand BBCodes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 12:33 am    Post subject: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Hi, nice site you have here!

Found your "Select Expand BBcodes MOD" really like it, but i have some issues with it.
Before i go further into my problem i have to tell you i don't use phpBB2 but PNphpBB2 (forked phpBB2 to work together with postnuke)

This said, i want to ask you why when i quote someone some of these blocks show up completly shrunk & centered at my site?
Weird thing is, "code" BBcodes don't have this, and neither if a quote is inserted manually without actually quoting someone.

you can have a look at some test post made using it HERE

Hope you can help me sort out this isue,

Greetings,

RJW van den Hout
The Netherlands

(PS, i have another question on your HTML bbcode mod, but guess i'll start new topic for that one)
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

RvdH wrote:
...why when i quote someone some of these blocks show up completly shrunk & centered at my site?
Weird thing is, "code" BBcodes don't have this, and neither if a quote is inserted manually without actually quoting someone.

This MOD works ok on many other websites, so it could be caused by one of the javascripts (or other particular things) present in your pages. I would remove everything but this MOD and try... then add a gadget and try, etc.

...I tried to understand what's going on, but I finally gave up, since there're too many dynamic things on your site. Also, there's even some "encrypted" javascript code. I do not have the time to debug your site for you. I'm sorry.

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Uh, yeah many dynamic features... Wink

think the encrypted javascript is the on at the bottom ("contact" url)

Anyway i'll take your advice and gonna build a testsite from scratch to see if it works then
Meanwhile i can disable your code for "quotes"?
from reading a post in another topic here i understand i can do this by placing my default code in BBcode.tpl, right ?

Thanks for your time & answering

Greets,

RvdH
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Yes, you can do that.

You'll see on the code the parts related to each BBCode easilly. Smile

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Yup, that one is working fine now Smile

RvdH
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:57 am    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

I've setup a test site with PNphpBB without other mods, now it works like you already expected Smile

Now, i just need to find what breaks it...
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Hey,

got a aditional question for you...

Allthough this is not really related to your mod, i've setup your html bbcode mod so i can use it to post the director lingo code...all is working very well. i csutomized it a bit so it displays a nice table arounf it (like code & quote boxes)

follow the URL i posted in above and you'll see, now i was wondering, can i get <select><expand> functionality with it? (Especially <select> would be cool)

What should i have to edit to achieve that?

Code:

<!-- BEGIN html_open --><table class="bodyline" width="90%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="3" border="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="helpline"><span class="genmed"><b>Lingo:</b>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="quote"><!-- END html_open -->
<!-- BEGIN html_close --></td>
</tr>
</table><!-- END html_close -->
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Look in the Select Expand BBCodes MOD's contrib folder. You'll find extensions for the PHP Syntax Highlighter and Syntax Highlighting BBCodes.

That might help you figure out how to extend the HTML BBCode. Smile

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Not tested, but here's a possible fix:

Code:
#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------------
#
includes/bbcode.php
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
   $bbcode_tpl['code_open'] = str_replace($expand_ary1, $expand_ary2, $bbcode_tpl['code_open']);
#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
   $bbcode_tpl['html_open'] = str_replace($expand_ary1, $expand_ary2, $bbcode_tpl['html_open']);
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
   $bbcode_tpl['code_close'] = str_replace($expand_ary3, $expand_ary4, $bbcode_tpl['code_close']);
#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
   $bbcode_tpl['html_close'] = str_replace($expand_ary3, $expand_ary4, $bbcode_tpl['html_close']);
#
#-----[ SAVE ]------------------------------------------------
#


Code:
#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------------
#
#  NOTE --- You need to do this for all of your installed template styles
#
templates/subSilver/bbcode.tpl
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
<!-- BEGIN html_open --><!-- END html_open -->
<!-- BEGIN html_close --><!-- END html_close -->
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------------
#
<!-- BEGIN html_open --></span>
<table class="bodyline" width="90%" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0" align="center" style="table-layout:fixed;">
   <tr>
      <td class="helpline"><span class="genmed"><b>HTML:</b>
<script type="text/javascript" src="{U_SXBB_JSLIB}"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
   var id = 'SXBB' + (1000 + Math.floor(Math.random() * 5000));
   SXBB[id] = new _SXBB(id);
   SXBB[id].T['select'] = '{L_SELECT}';
   SXBB[id].T['expand'] = '{L_EXPAND}';
   SXBB[id].T['contract'] = '{L_CONTRACT}';
   SXBB[id].writeCmd();
//-->
</script>
      </span></td>
   </tr>
   <tr>
     <td class="code">
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
   SXBB[id].writeDiv();
//-->
</script><!-- END html_open -->
<!-- BEGIN html_close -->
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
   document.write('</div>');
//-->
</script>
      </td>
   </tr>
</table>
<span class="postbody"><!-- END html_close -->
#
#-----[ SAVE ]------------------------------------------------
#


Replace the string "HTML:" with "Lingo:" or whatever you wish.

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 4:19 am    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

It's close, but it just didn't do it... HERE 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 5:06 am    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Well, it works in your printer friendly view of that topic. The block is expanded correctly (*) and the Select Expand commands are hidden...

I guess the problem is related to the CSS classes defined in your pages or something close to that end...

How to fix? Not sure, but I would change the definitions of the CSS classes used around the Select Expand thingy (removing attributes, then adding them one by one, etc.) to see what happens. Also check if there are CSS definitions for generic tags like DIV, etc. that might also affect the behavior of the javascript used to change the Expand/Contract states...

(*) Note for someone else reading this topic. We made a quick hack for the Printer Friendy MOD here:
http://forums.phpmix.org/viewtopic.php?t=428 Cool

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:44 am    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

removing
Code:
style="table-layout:fixed;"
fixed it Smile

Thanks mate!

HAPPY NEWYEAR!!

RvdH
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Ok, really like it...

Last question Wink

Is there a (easy) way to only use the <Select> and to not use&display the expand/contract option?

BTW, whenever i click the <select> URL the animated gifs on the right (affiliates) stop animating ?Wink

RvdH
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus
[Administrator]
[Administrator]


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

RvdH wrote:
Is there a (easy) way to only use the <Select> and to not use&display the expand/contract option?

Edit the .js file and comment the following lines of the SXBB_IsOverflowAble() function (so it always returns false):

Code:
// if( document.getElementById && document.childNodes && !SXBB_IsIEMac() )
//   return true;

 
 
_________________
http://www.phpmix.org
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RvdH
Junior Member
Junior Member


Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem with Select Expand BBcodes MOD Reply with quote

Thanks once again...i'm satisfied with the result Smile 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    phpMiX.org Forum Index -> phpBB MODs -> Select Expand BBCodes All times are GMT + 1 Hour
 
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum